Mitsui Kimono Fabric Shop in Suruga-chō (Suruga-chō Mitsui Gofuku-dana) from "Guide to Famous Spots of Edo Vol. 1"
Compiled by Saitō Chōshū, Painted by Hasegawa Settan 1834-1836 (Tempō 5 to Tempō 7) Kaga Collection 256

More properly known as Mitsui Echigo-ya, this business was one of Edo's most famous traders in kimono fabrics, it being the antecedent of the modern Mitsukoshi department stores. Originally founded in Nihonbashi Hon-chō in 1673 by Mitsui Takatoshi, the shop relocated to Suruga-chō in 1683, it flourishing there by using a new business strategy best defined as "cash only, prices as advertised". The original site of the business correlates to Nihonbashi Muromachi 1-chōme and 2-chōme, where modern visitors can now find a Mitsukoshi department store and a branch of Sumitomo Mitsui Trust Bank.